top of page
  • mmswofford

Poem: "When We Reach the Edge"

Updated: Aug 5, 2022

I had the pleasure of writing this spoken word poem for Gordon College's 2021 Day of Giving! A fantastic team of artists and cinematographers created an incredible video featuring the video that you can watch here. That said, I know some people prefer to read poems so you can admire the nuance of language, undistracted by visual elements. So here's the poem in it's full written form. Enjoy!

When We Reach the Edge

by Maggie Swofford


i.

When I push off the edge,

how do I move?

How do I soothe

my rattling heart?

How do I trust my saving grace

to calm the waves,

create a safe place

for me within the fray?


I know how to hold

a pen, but to mold

my open mind

takes courage.

I want to know

that I can make it.

I want to know

that I can stay awake in

the discussions, dissections,

endless instructions.

Because the truth is,

now more than ever,

the most important matter

is not what I think I know,

but what I need to learn

in order to truly grow.


ii.

The first swoosh against the water,

the first sputter on a silent stage,

pushes away, paves a new way.

We abandon our old selves—

our stereotypes, our pride—

in favor of learning: to walk, to glide

on the surface of the water

into the wilds.


In between the smiles,

the moments of connection,

and an abundance of grief-filled isolation,

we soar toward the future.

Because our minds are eager

to bear fruit, swear the truth.

We know that we must root

ourselves in our intuition:

In seasons of failure or fruition,

who we are becoming

will exceed who we’ve become.

We can only learn

if we truly look;

if we merely took

the time to observe

the world, the catastrophes

of friends and colleagues,

and asked ourselves:

do you know them?

Do you hear them?


iii.

Listen

to the bubbling water sparking.

Listen

to the pens scraping and shaping the paper.

Listen

to your friend, student, and neighbor.

We are bound to arrive

at each other’s side,

cry out and fight out

in search of justice,

aright ourselves

to righteousness:

the center of the stage,

the center of our lake.

Walk,

if we can learn how,

on water

toward him and our great sages

who have taught us, crumbled us,

made us grumble,

made our stomachs rumble

for what their words

slaughtered and offered:

Fear. Ignorance.

Ideas. Ideals. Hope.

Hope is in the water

around us,

healing us,

sealing us off

from all directions

except our current course.

For we know our savior’s current

is always pushing us.

If we go

and follow,

we will grow

and grow

and grow.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page