top of page
  • mmswofford

My Spoken Word Poem Was Made into a Video for Gordon College

A few weeks ago, I had the pleasure of writing a spoken word poem describing the experiences of Gordon College students over the past year. The incredible people at Lightmark Creative did their magical magic and turned the poem into a full video!


I actually was invited to the filming, and let me tell you: getting to watch the filming occur was one of the coolest experiences I've ever had. Because of Gordon's AMAZING students and actors, my poem suddenly has so much more life and meaning than it did when I wrote it.


Their readings--filled with unique intonations, movements, and emotions--give my words BREATH and SPIRIT in a way I've never experienced with one of my poems before. I'm still walking on a high from that day.


Thank you Gordon for trusting me to write a poem that truly reflects on and expresses the experiences of the students! This process is one I'll never forget.


Watch my spoken word poem, entitled "When We Reach the Edge," performed by phenomenal students & actors below!



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page